Our Favourite Famous Person

February 11, 2015 § 1 Comment

Currently I am teaching 2 classes only hehe of which one is Form 2 and the other Form 3.

Today, for my 3A3, the topic was Famous People. When I wrote the two words on the whiteboard, half of the class asked, “Teacher, apa itu famous?”.

Note: This is the fifth out of seven classes, and yes the students have a limited vocabulary. About 75% of the students are Siamese; and they had trouble understanding BM tatabahasa – which means translation/code-switching is not applicable when explaining sentence structures.

I asked if anybody knows the word and only a boy replied, “Popular!”.

After eliciting several names of popular people, we played Charades. I divided the class into 2; boys vs girls team (due to request). It took 20 freaking minutes for us to get to the 4th turn. The girls were still being extremely hesitant and dependent although there was a slight improvement compared to first week of class. I had to admit that this was the first time I felt that girls are more difficult to be encouraged than boys. Many teachers in the school agreed with me regarding this. #truecase

So I moved on to the next activity – producing a Our Favourite Famous Person poster. I showed them the end product I expected from them while giving instructions (so that I won’t have to repeat the instructions in BM and thus preventing their demands and reliance to listen to instructions in BM).

This was a product from 3AG2 - a 'better' class. I carried out the exact lesson and got a totally different response from them. We managed to guess at least 20 names and poster was produced within 30 minutes.

This was a product from 3AG2 – a ‘better’ class. I carried out the exact lesson and got a totally different response from them. We managed to guess at least 20 names and poster was produced within 30 minutes.

I reminded them that I wanted sentences and showed some examples on the board. Previously we learnt that because means ‘kerana’ – so I pointed out that they should write ‘I like … because he/she is …’.

And these are some of the end products.

This was from a boys' group believe it or not..lol. Note: quit is meant to be 'cute'

This was from a boys’ group believe it or not..lol.
Note: quit is meant to be ‘cute’

Great drawing over here.

Learnt about the existence of this dude from the students (incapable teacher haha). Some Siamese words as well! :D

Learnt about the existence of this dude from the students (incapable teacher haha).
Some Siamese words as well! 😀

As a motivation, I wrote all 5 descriptions (corrected versions) of their favourite famous people and asked them to copy into their books. Surprisingly, they told me that they were proud of their work and copied them diligently even though it was already 5 minutes into recess time.

Vocabulary of the day : national & international.

Quite a fruitful lesson I think!

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Our Favourite Famous Person

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Our Favourite Famous Person at O f . U n s p o k e n . W o r d s.

meta

