Friendship Forever?

May 17, 2011 § 5 Comments

Three years ago, I published a post with this title.

In these three years, a lot more had happened and the same question popped up. Does “Friendship Forever” exist? If it is possible, can you assure me that it is a promise not meant to be broken?

Yes I have lost a friendship. And what hurts the most is that you keep on looking for the same person but he/she will never be there for you anymore. You can never believe how much pain it left. You can never imagine how much doubt and courage you have to face even to ask how they have been doing.

And so, knowing myself, I choose the cowardly way. I’d back away if it makes you uncomfortable. I’d glue whatever I want to say if you refuse to hear. I’d give you as much time as you wanted to ignore me. I’d face the guilt and pretend to console myself that time will heal everything.

Perhaps I am doomed to be in that situation over and over again.

Some things, once they are gone, they would never return. The chapter’s done, the story goes on. And I struggle with it alone.

Even if the friendship is not forever, can the memories of what we used to do remain although we’ve grown apart?

You’ve moved on, and all I’m left with is an imperfect smile.

Tagged:

§ 5 Responses to Friendship Forever?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Friendship Forever? at O f . U n s p o k e n . W o r d s.

meta

